Wednesday, July 9, 2008

Metallica - No Life 'til Leather (1982 demo)

Day three of "Demo Week!"

Here's Metallica's demo tape that would later become their first album Kill 'Em All. This was recorded when Dave Mustaine (Megadeth) was on lead guitar and before Cliff Burton joined the band. The song "The Mechanics" (sometimes spelled 'Mechanix') was co-written by Mustaine so was later re-written as "The Four Horsemen" after his departure. The tracks on No Life 'til Leather are quite similar to the final versions on Kill 'Em All, the big difference being James Hetfield's vocal delivery – he had a little bit of that Ronnie James Dio howl.

[DOWNLOAD] Metallica - No Life 'til Leather (1982 demo)
1. Hit the Lights
2. The Mechanics
3. Motorbreath
4. Seek & Destroy
5. Metal Militia
6. Jump in the Fire
7. Phantom Lord

James Hetfield – vocals, guitar
Dave Mustaine – lead guitar
Ron McGovney – bass guitar
Lars Ulrich – drums, percussion


Harry Singlehurst said...

THANKSS MAN!!! 1 thing, its spelt mechainx... part from that... WOOW. how did u get them?

Anonymous said...

Mechanix :p

Franklin Mint said...

I always thought it was Mechanix too, but look at the tape sleeve.

STEPHEN B said...

A terrific release and was quite a find to hear a long time ago. Mechanix is the right name on set lists and other release (listed Mechanics here) - and RON McGOVNEY plays on this release; this was a tape made to hand out and promote the band and Cliff joined a bit later [not on this session].

-- Ron McGovney, Dave Mustaine, James Hetfield, Lars Ulrich